Division of Natural Science

The Division of Natural Science provides education for three types of students: (1)those who want to obtain the Bachelor of Science degree in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Physics, Mathematics, or Mathematics with an emphasis in Computer Science; (2) all students, as part of their liberal arts education; and (3) secondary education students who are focusing on one of the disciplines mentioned above. Because of the increasingly important role of science and technology in society, the course offerings of the Division of Natural Sciences are a vital part of the liberal arts education. General education courses in the Division are designed to relate basic principles of science in nature and to see the impact of technology on society. The rationale of the scientific method, analytical reasoning, and computational analysis is emphasized.

Majors

Graduates of the following majors will be prepared to attend graduate schools or related professional schools (e.g., medical, dental, pharmacy, allied health schools), to work in industry, or to prepare for other fields (e.g., teaching, management, law).

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
    • Chemistry Secondary Education
  • Mathematics
    • Mathematics Secondary Education
    • Mathematics/Computer Science
  • Physics
    • Physics Education
  • Computer Science

Students in the Division of Natural Science are afforded the opportunity to participate in dual degree programs with several institutions, in areas such as Engineering, Pre-Nursing, and Dentistry.

Research

Below are research programs within the Natural Science Division:

Students in the Division of Natural Science are afforded the opportunity to participate in dual degree programs with several institutions, in areas such as Engineering, Pre-Nursing, and Dentistry.

Contact

Division of Natural Science

Richard McGinnis, Ph.D.
Division Dean
  601-977-7782
  rmcginnis@tougaloo.edu

Biology Department

Bianca Garner, Ph.D.
Department Chair
  601-977-7933
  bgarner@tougaloo.edu

Falicia Edwards, Ph.D.
  601-977-7980
  fedwards@tougaloo.edu

Linden Haynes, Ph.D.
  601-977-7892
  lhaynes@tougaloo.edu

Bettye Hennington, Ph.D.
  601-977-6130
  behennington@tougaloo.edu

Dexter Whitley
  601-977-7795
  dwhitley@tougaloo.edu

Jinghe Mao, Ph.D.
  601-977-4450
  jmao@tougaloo.edu

Chemistry Department

George Armstrong, Ph.D.
Department Chair
  601-977-7785
  garmstrong@tougaloo.edu

Manilang Feng
  601-977-7790
  mfeng@tougaloo.edu

Bidisha Sengupta, Ph.D.
  601-977-7779
  bsengupta@tougaloo.edu

Rajendar Trehan, Ph.D.
  601-977-7792
  rtrehan@tougaloo.edu

Math/Computer Science Department

Sharron Streeter
Department Chair
phone  601-977-7760
  sstreeter@tougaloo.edu

Fatissa Allen
  601-977-7777
  fallen@tougaloo.edu

Roy Caston
  601-977-7775
  rcaston@tougaloo.edu

Nimr Fahmy, Ph.D.
  601-977-7754
  nfahmy@tougaloo.edu

Glake Hill
  601-977-7776
  ghill@tougaloo.edu

Ravinder Kumar, Ph.D.
  601-977-7791
  rkumar@tougaloo.edu

Cornelius Toole, Ph.D.
phone  601-977-6149
  ctoole@tougaloo.edu

Jea-Pil Cho, Ph.D.
phone  601-977-6141
  jcho@tougaloo.edu

Physics Department

Pradip Biswas, Ph.D.
Department Co-Chair
  601-977-7788
  pbiswas@tougaloo.edu

Santanu Banerjee, Ph.D.
Department Co-Chair
  601-977-7789
  sbanerjee@tougaloo.edu

Division Staff

Jasmine Taylor
Lab Coordinator
  601-977-4484
  jmtaylor@tougaloo.edu

Bonni Blackmon
Administrative Assistant
  601-977-7794
  bblackmon@tougaloo.edu