Two Rivers Gala | Tougaloo Honors 2024


Into the Future and Beyond

Building Legacies and Breaking Barriers


Join us for an evening of commemoration and enlightenment at the Two River Gala-Tougaloo Honors, where we'll pay homage to exemplary alumni, bestow the Light of Justice and Vanguard awards upon pioneers, and converge in solidarity to champion Tougaloo College's transformative mission of spearheading societal advancement for a brighter tomorrow.

With your invaluable support, we are forging pathways to progress, empowering future generations, and shaping a tomorrow marked by equality and distinction. We invite you to participate in this collective odyssey, 'Into the Future and Beyond,' where each stride contributes to establishing a legacy marked by significance and dismantling barriers for a better tomorrow.

Proceeds from the Gala hold significant importance in upholding student scholarships, facilitating progress, and nurturing the empowerment of forthcoming generations. Your attendance, collaboration, and dedication are essential to our shared journey, where every endeavor signifies the cultivation of a legacy rich in influence and overcoming challenges for a brighter future. Let us unite to mold a future characterized by fairness and excellence.

Jackson Convention

Jackson Convention Complex


2024 Two Rivers Gala Gold Section Divider


Awards and Recognitions

Honoring Tougaloo College Alumni


Light of Justice Award

Light of Justice Award

Honoring individuals who demonstrate unwavering dedication, visionary leadership, and profound commitment to advancing justice and equity through impactful policy advocacy, igniting positive societal change.

Derrick Johnson

Light of Justice Award

Defender of Justice and Beacon of Equality

Derrick Johnson stands at the forefront of the fight for civil rights and social justice as President and CEO of the NAACP, a position he has held since October 2017.

Learn More

Derrick Johnson – Award Light of Justice Award


2024 Two Rivers Gala Gold Section Divider


Vanguard Award

Honoring extraordinary individuals whose groundbreaking achievements have left an indelible mark on history, elevating them to a singular realm of distinction.

Rear Admiral-Select Zeita Merchant – Vanguard Award

Rear Admiral Zeita Merchant
Vanguard Award

Leading with Valor, Breaking Barriers

Rear Admiral Zeita Merchant is a trailblazer, a leader, and history-maker in the U.S. Coast Guard.

Learn More

Dr. Hakeem Oluseyi – Vanguard Award

Dr. Hakeem Oluseyi
Vanguard Award

Pioneering the Future, Empowering Minds

Dr. Hakeem Oluseyi is more than an astrophysicist; he's a beacon of inspiration, a champion of education, and a testament to the power of resilience.

Learn More


2024 Two Rivers Gala Gold Section Divider


Unlocking the Doors of Opportunity

Scholarships at Tougaloo College are the lifeblood of transformation. They empower bright minds, bridge educational gaps, and sculpt the trailblazers of tomorrow. Through your generosity at the Two Rivers Gala-Tougaloo Honors, you're not just giving towards scholarships but igniting the flames of potential in deserving students. Your support doesn't just fund education; it fuels dreams, breaks barriers, and champions the legacy of equity and opportunity that defines Tougaloo College. Join us in shaping futures and fostering a new generation of leaders and innovators.

2024 Two Rivers Gala Scholarship


2024 Two Rivers Gala Gold Section Divider



2024 Two Rivers Gala Gold Section Divider


Special Guest Performance


The O-Jays

The O'Jays

The O'Jays are touring history, a connection to an era, and a sound that formed the soundtrack for the lives of several generations. The O’Jays are still hitting the road with the same electrifying energy they’ve had for over 50 years. Walter Williams and Eddie Levert first met when they were the ages of 6 and 7 respectively. As teenagers in Canton, Ohio, they formed a band originally consisting of Eddie Levert, Walter Williams, William Powell, Bobby Massey and Bill Isles.

Learn More


2024 Two Rivers Gala Gold Section Divider




Title Sponsor


Logo Placeholder


2024 Two Rivers Gala Gold Section Divider


Premier Sponsors






Dr. Jennifer and Mr. Edmond Hughes


2024 Two Rivers Gala Gold Section Divider


VIP Reception Co-Sponsors


Butler Snow


One Voice


2024 Two Rivers Gala Gold Section Divider


Car Services Sponsors

Tougaloo Class of 1999

Cadence Bank