Mississippi Association of Colleges and Universities Tougaloo College


* This agenda is subject to additions and changes.

Sunday, September 30, 2018

3:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. Conference Registration
Hilton Jackson
5:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. Shuttle to Museum
6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. Reception and Tour
Mississippi Civil Rights Museum

Monday, October 1, 2018

7:45 a.m. – 8:15 a.m. Conference Registration  
Continential Breakfast
Hilton Jackson
8:15 a.m. - 8:45 a.m. Opening Session
Hilton Jackson

National Anthem
Tougaloo College Student

Welcome to Jackson
Mayor Chokwe Antar Lumumba

Opening Remarks
Dr. Beverly W. Hogan
Tougaloo College
2018 MAC President 

8:45 a.m.– 9:45 a.m. General Session
Institutional Commitment to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Implications for Higher Education

Dr. Alfred Rankins, Commissioner
Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Dr. Andrea Mayfield, Executive Director
Mississippi Community College Board

Dr. E. Harold Fisher, Executive Director
Mississippi Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

9:45 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Break
10:00 a.m. -11:00 a.m.

General Sessions
Creating Inclusive Campus Climates
Dr. Ted Mitchell
President, American Council on Education

11:00 a.m.- 12:00 noon Section Meetings
Chief Executive Officers
Convener: Dr. Beverly W. Hogan
Chief Academic Officers
Convener: Dr. Steven Moser Provost/Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
University of Southern Mississippi
Chief Student Affairs Officers
Convener: Dr. Jacqueline Gibson Preastly
Vice President for Student Affairs
Mississippi Valley State University
12:15 - 2:00 p.m. Halbrook Awards Luncheon
Speaker: Representative Phil Gunn
Speaker, Mississippi House of Representatives
Business Meeting immediately following
2:00 p.m.- 2:15 p.m. Shuttles to Woodworth Chapel
2:30 p.m.- 3:30 p.m. Closing Session
Woodworth Chapel
Tougaloo College

Strategic Approaches to Diversity and Equity in Higher Education: Voices from the Field
Dr. Loye Ashton
Director, Center for International Studies and Global Change
Tougaloo College

Dr. Katrina Caldwell
Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Community Engagement
University of Mississippi

Dr. Amy Miller
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
University of Southern Mississippi

3:30 p.m. Conference Concludes
Closing remarks by Dr. Beverly W. Hogan.