Enrollment Management and Student Services

 ​

  


Message from the Vice President

Greetings and welcome to Tougaloo College!

I am pleased to invite you to peruse the content on our Division of Enrollment Management and Student Services’ webpage, which has been created especially for you. Enrollment Management and Student Services is comprised of the Offices of Admissions, Recruitment, Records/Registrar, Retention, Dean of Student Services, Counseling Services/ADA Compliance & Title IX, Public Safety, Residential Life, Student Engagement, Zero Tolerance, and Communications and External Relations.

Consider your journey here as one of the many stepping stones to your success. Not only do we educate the student mind, but we also nurture the whole student. Our Division is dedicated to assisting students, as well as providing support for their academic and co-curricular goals. Our mission is to put “Students First,” and for students to develop lifelong skills that they can utilize after departing Tougaloo. Our team is dedicated to building a community of scholars, providing a strong foundation of co-curricular learning, as well as promoting personal growth. This Division strives to instill in students the drive for civic engagement, leadership, and citizenship. There are various opportunities outside of the classroom which are available to students. As you matriculate through your journey at this special place, you will discover that co-curricular learning is a vital and meaningful complement to your academic experience.

We remain committed to helping create an inclusive campus community where every student belongs, and the student experience matters. We believe that every student has the capacity to live a purposeful life and positively impact the world. Whether you are living on or off campus, you will have a multitude of opportunities to learn, develop, and grow as a student leader, engaged citizen, and responsible member of the community. 

Collectively, the ultimate goal of our Division is to meet the service needs of the Tougaloo community; therefore, we are committed to providing opportunities for open communication and for information sharing. Your feedback is very important to us, and we look forward to advancing Tougaloo together. 

In Service,
Whitney McDowell-Robinson, Ph.D., NCC '10
Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Services 

Contact Information

We are here to help you. Feel free to call, email, visit, or write the Division of Enrollment Management and Student Services:

Campus Location: Jamerson Hall
Office Hours: Monday - Friday: 8am - 5pm

Mailing Address:
Tougaloo College
Division of Enrollment Management and Student Services
500 West County Line Road
Tougaloo, MS 39174
601-977-7814
601-977-4495 (fax)

photo
Whitney McDowell-Robinson, Ph.D., NCC '10

Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Services
601-977-7815
vpemss@tougaloo.edu

Sharon R. Alexander
Dean of Student Services & Title IX Coordinator
601-977-7821
sralexander@tougaloo.edu

Paul Scott, Sr. '98
Director of Recruitment
601-977-6180
601-502-4393 (Business Cell)
pscott2@tougaloo.edu
D’Awana L. Bledsoe
Director of Admissions
601-977-7919
dlbledsoe@tougaloo.edu
Edna Drake
Chief of Public Safety
601-977-7876
edrake@tougaloo.edu
Jasmine Taylor, MPH
Program Director of Zero Tolerance
601-977-6142
jtaylor2@tougaloo.edu
Latoya Haymer
Director of Residential Life
601-977-7819
lthaymer@tougaloo.edu

Vacant
Director of Communications and External Relations

MeShonya Wren-Coleman, Ph.D.
Director of Retention
601-977-7942
mwcoleman@tougaloo.edu
Shakebra L. Young, Ph.D., MSSW, MBA
Director of Counseling Services/ ADA Compliance
601-977-7818
syoung4@tougaloo.edu
Earl Sanders
Director of Student Engagement
601-977-6186
esanders@tougaloo.edu

Katina Harrison, MBA '02
Interim Registrar
601-977-6135
kharrison@tougaloo.edu


Camille J. Wilson '03
Office Manager for Enrollment Management and Student Services
601-977-7814
cwilson@tougaloo.edu