Two Rivers Gala - Honorees

Honorary Co-Chairs

Colin and Alma Powell
Vernon and Ann Jordan
James and Donna Barksdale

Tougaloo Honors® Light of Justice Award® Honorees

Charles A. Baldwin II (Posthumously)

An outspoken advocate for equal rights, Reverend Baldwin was instrumental in the development of the Brown-Tougaloo Partnership in 1964. He served Brown University as chaplain from 1958 until 1990 and also served Tougaloo College as Acting President (1987-1988).

Ruth M. Batson (Posthumously)

One of Boston’s best-known education and civil rights activists, Batson was the first black woman on the Democratic National Committee and the first woman elected president of the NAACP’s New England Regional Conference. In 1969, she founded the Ruth M. Batson Educational Foundation, which has awarded more than 1.2 million since its inception.

Isaac K. Byrd, Esq.

Legal, civic and political activist, Attorney Byrd is perhaps best known as co-counsel in the landmark Ayers case that, ultimately, won equal funding for African American and white state universities in Mississippi. At Tougaloo College, we know him best as a devoted member of the Board of Trustees for over two decades.

Timothy L. and Daphne Maxwell Reid

Actors, entrepreneurs, humanitarians and philanthropists, the Reids have not only been role models for young African American actors and entrepreneurs, but also have devoted much of their time to projects focused on giving back to their community.

LeRoy G. Walker, Jr.

Business leader, philanthropist and beloved former Chairman of the Tougaloo College Board of Trustees, Walker has been a trailblazer both as an African American businessman in the Deep South and as a valued community servant.