Tougaloo College held its 32nd Annual Business Luncheon on February 14, 2020. AT&T Mississippi, Entergy Mississippi, Sanderson Farms, Kroger and Trustmark

presented checks to the College, ranging from $15,000 to $35,000. Former Touglaoo College Board chair Wesley F. Prater, MD, received the Tougaloo College Chairman’s Award.

James W. Loewen, PhD and The Robert M. Hearin Support Foundation were honored as the 2020 Society of Philanthropists inductees. Society of Philanthropists inductees have each contributed more than $100,000 at the time of their induction.

Members of the Tougaloo College Board of Trustees and Central Mississippi Planning and Development District were recognized for their partnership, which resulted in being honored by the National Association of Development Organizations with the 2019 Impact Award for the Tougaloo College Master Plan, which analyzed the best ways to use the land around the College.

In addition to honoring groups and individuals who serve as partners with the College, the luncheon consisted of great entertainment, networking and food. The Tougaloo College Instrumental Jazz Ensemble performed and students participated in the program.

Guest speaker Haley Fisackerly, President and Chief Executive Officer of Entergy Mississippi spoke about the need for workforce development and partnering with schools K-12, in addition to colleges and universities.