Faculty Directory

Division of Education

Pamela Russ, Ph.D.
Division Dean

Elementary Education Department

Arthur McLin, Jr., Ph.D.
Department Chair

James C. Coleman, Ph.D.

Roshunda Harris Allen

Health, Physical Education, and Recreation Department

Norma Williams
Department Chair

Thomas Billups

Yolanda Brown

Nicholas Judgeware

Shandrea Taylor
phone  601-977-4479

James Coleman

Division of Humanities

Andrea Montgomery, Ph.D.
Division Dean

English Department

Dorothy Terry, Ph.D.
Department Chair
phone  601-977-7752

Mary P. Davis

Elise Morse-Gagne, Ph.D.

Miranda Freeman, Ph.D.
phone  601-977-4483

Carlos Smith

Gary Matthews
phone  601-977-7825

ICOHM/Religious Studies Department

Loye Ashton, Ph.D.
Department Chair

Larry Johnson, D.Min.

Mass Communications Department

Ken Sanders, MFA
Department Chair/Radio & Television Broadcasting
Assistant Professor of Mass Communications
Ayesha Mustafaa, MA
Assistant Professor of Mass Communications
Erin Pickens, MS
Television Broadcasting
Assistant Professor of Mass Communications
Aleesha Smith, MS
Public Relations & Advertising
Assistant Professor of Mass Communications


Visual and Performing Arts Department

Jessie Primer, III, Ph.D.
Department Chair

Kathy Castilla, Ph.D.

Johnnie Mae Gilbert

Brenda Wilder, Ph.D.

Bruce O'Hara

Katrina Vandergriff-Arrington

Division of Natural Science

Richard McGinnis, Ph.D.
Division Dean

Biology Department

Bianca Garner, Ph.D.
Department Chair

Linden Haynes, Ph.D.

Scharri Ezell Walker, Ph.D.

Jinghe Mao, Ph.D.

Chemistry Department  

George Armstrong, Ph.D.
Department Chair

Manilang Feng

Bidisha Sengupta, Ph.D.

Rajendar Trehan, Ph.D.

Math/Computer Science Department

Sharron Streeter
Department Chair
phone  601-977-7760

Fatissa Allen

Roy Caston

Nimr Fahmy, Ph.D.

Glake Hill

Ravinder Kumar, Ph.D.

Adam Smith
phone  601-977-7856

Cornelius Toole, Ph.D.
phone  601-977-6149

Xiuquan Wang
phone  601-977-6141

Physics Department

Pradip Biswas, Ph.D.
Department Co-Chair

Santanu Banerjee, Ph.D.
Department Co-Chair

Division Staff

Barbara Powell

Ming Shenwu

Division of Social Science

Michael Williams, Ph.D.

Economics Department

Atef Al-Dabbour
Department Chair
phone  601-977-7852

Elsaudi Mohamed, Ph.D.
phone  601-977-7917

History Department

William L. Woods, Ph.D.
Department Chair

James Brown

Political Science Department

Stephen Rozman, Ph.D.

Charles Holmes
phone  601-977-6154

Psychology Department

Madhu Singh, Ph.D.
Department Chair
phone  601-977-7807

Gary Chong, Ph.D.

Shaila Khan, Ph.D.
phone  601-977-7805

Sociology Department

Meherun Laiju, Ph.D.
Department Chair

Kamal Abdelrahman, Ph.D.

Walter Davis, Ph.D.

Frederick L. Hunter Jr., MSW
Assistant Professor of Sociology


Comprehensive Academic Resource Program (CARP)

Alfredlene Armstrong
Associate Dean

Linda Anderson, Ph.D.

Lavina Hutchins-Donald

Barbara Powell
phone  601-977-4468

LaToshia Stamps, Ph.D.
phone  601-977-4474

Gloria McCray-Watson
phone  601-977-7763

Library and Information Services

Orthella Polk Moman
Director of Library Services

Vickie Davis

Patricia Strong

Minnie Watson

Shunessa Ealey-White